Scammers Targeting Facebook Users with Dislike Button Scam

New Dislike button scam has started to make rounds on the Facebook, one of the most popular and widely used social media networks.

This scam is expected to spread far and wide because of its nature and how the Facebook users are anxiously waiting to get their hands on the dislike button.

For those readers who are not aware, Facebook’s CEO Mark Zuckerberg officially broke the news during an in-person questions and answers session earlier this week that the team is working on the dislike button and will be publicly unveiled soon.

Scammers are determined to use the dislike button as bait to attract novice Facebook users into believing that clicking on some links would give them an early access to the dislike button.

Since the news about the dislike button has become official now with the button expected to be launched soon, the scammers have found a great opportunity in this and have decided to exploit it for their benefit by starting a scam campaign.

So their new scam campaign included a group of links that is explicitly designed to spread itself through Facebook by misleadingly claiming to offer an early access to the much-awaited dislike button.

Facebook Dislike Button Scam

Headline of scam link reads:

“Get newly introduced facebook dislike button on your profile.”

facebook-dislike-button-scam

Furthermore, the description says that it is an “invite-only feature” and can only be activated by clicking on the provided link, which ultimately leads the victim to a scam and malicious website.

facebook-dislike-button-scam-2

It is quite obvious that these campaigns are expressly designed by attackers to spread itself by gaining access to your Facebook and ultimately sharing those links on your timeline. Additionally, those links will also be sent as a message to your Facebook friends.

Once the links are successfully spread on your Facebook, the scam campaign will then ask you to fill out the intrusive surveys in an attempt to gather your personal information as well as asking for your account credentials. All of those would then be used to spam you and your contacts via email. 

Some links may also install malware on your computer or spread the malware through your social media accounts. However, we aren’t sure if anyone has been infected with a malware through the dislike button scam.

So it is recommended that every user should stay away from these malicious links because they won’t be providing you an access to the dislike button.

Last month, a similar phishing scam was discovered on the Facebook which was designed to harvest Facebook login credentials of the victims.

We suggest you first verify the links and the authenticity of the news being shared by anyone to ensure safety of your online presence and social media accounts, because clicking on such links could lead to theft of your personal information.

Farzan Hussain

I am Mohammad Farzan! A technology and gadget enthusiast as well as a creative content writer with over six years of experience in writing engaging content. You will mostly find me writing occasional blog posts, designing websites, capturing photos, social networking and listening to music.