Facebook has made many efforts so far to refine its Messenger app. This year in May, Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg along with other executives of the social network admitted that the Facebook Messenger has to be refined since the current app contained many useless features while lacked critically important ones. Such as, its UI could be redesigned and new features like Dark Mode could be added. Zuckerberg also agreed that the Messenger app of Facebook wasn’t ass fast and easy-to-use as other such apps were.
And now we see some evolutionary measures been taken by Facebook execs and part of this is the new feature that lets you delete the messages within ten minutes of sending them. This feature is called the Unsend feature. It will let users delete the message that they have sent through the Messenger app.
The new feature was spotted by a Twitter user @wongmjane, who posted images showing how the feature works while another Twitter user @MattNavarra mentioned that the feature was listed as “coming soon” in the iOS client’s Messenger version 191.0 release notes.
Currently, the social network gives users an hour to delete a WhatsApp message, therefore, ten minutes isn’t a lot of time to fix up a mistake. However, it is better at least than having the mistakes preserved forever.
The release note states that users of Facebook Messenger app can remove a message within ten minutes of sending it. It could be a wrong photo that you sent by mistake, or incorrect information or a message posted in the wrong thread.
The Messenger app on the Apple Store shows this caption:
“Coming Soon: Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it.”
The release note doesn’t mention an exact date when this feature will be rolled out. Initially, it was planned in April to address the issues pointed by TechCrunch in its report alleging that Facebook is deleting old messages of its CEO quietly due to the probability of data breaches and hack attacks.
Now several months have passed and the feature still hasn’t been released for the public. Whenever it does, it will be a good change for Facebook users around the globe who want to delete their message and don’t have any other way of deleting or retrieving it.